A Winning Approach To DUI Defense
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Connecticut, it is important to consult with a highly rated and experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. You could face steep fines, driver’s license suspension, probation, community service and even incarceration.
At the Law Offices of Dan Lyons & Associates, we know how to fight DUI charges. We aggressively attack every aspect of the prosecution’s case, including:
- The legality of the motor vehicle stop by police
- The legality of the arrest for DUI by police
- The administration and results of the standard field sobriety test
- The validity and accuracy results of the blood, breath or urine tests
DUI defense attorney Dan Lyons is a former Assistant State’s Attorney who knows driving under the influence cases from both sides. He has stood in the shoes of the State Prosecutor. He knows how to develop defense strategies which are likely to be successful in either beating the charges altogether or reducing the punishment. We fight to defend clients facing charges of driving under the influence in Milford, Orange, West Haven, New Haven, East Haven, Branford, Guilford and Madison, and our law firm will be here to mount a strong defense.
Protecting Your Driver’s License And Your Freedom
If you are arrested for DUI, you will have to appear in criminal court because DUI is a criminal offense, not a mere traffic violation. You may also face separate proceedings brought by the Connecticut Motor Vehicle Department to suspend your privilege to operate a motor vehicle in Connecticut. When you retain us to represent you in this type of matter, we will represent you in Court and in any proceedings at the Motor Vehicle Department to suspend your operator’s license. We strongly recommend that you attend your first court appearance with a lawyer to avoid having any personal discussions with the prosecutor. Remember, anything you say can and will be used against you.
Motor Vehicle Per Se Suspension Hearings
After your arrest for DUI, you will receive a notice from the Department of Motor Vehicle advising you that your license will be suspended 30 days from the date of your arrest. You have 7 days from the date of this notice to schedule a hearing at the Connecticut Motor Vehicle Department to challenge this license suspension. These are called per se hearings. When you get this notice you should contact us immediately and allow us to schedule the hearing to challenge your suspension. If you don’t request the hearing in a timely manner, your license will be suspended without a hearing.
At the Per Se Suspension Hearing held by the Department of Motor Vehicles, we will defend you in an effort to prevent an automatic, mandatory 45 day suspension of your license if you either took a blood alcohol test and scored above the legal limit, or if you refused to take any breath or chemical tests. If we don’t prevail at this hearing the law mandates a 45 day suspension by the motor vehicle department for drivers who REFUSE to take a breath, blood or urine test or drivers whose test results indicate an elevated blood alcohol content (BAC).
If there is a per se suspension, your license will be suspended for a mandatory 45 day period, but during this period you may be able to drive with a special operators permit to and from work or school. We will assist you in applying for this special permit and after 45 days suspension you will be able to get your operator’s license re-instated only if you install an ignition interlock device (IID) in every vehicle you operate. Effective July 1, 2015, anyone convicted of DUI is required to install an IID in every vehicle they operate for a fixed period of time, ranging from six months to one year for 1st time offenders, and longer time periods for 2nd and 3rd time offenders and beyond. If you must install an IID device, we will assist in the process of leasing it and getting it properly installed. There may be additional suspension periods and longer IID requirements ordered by the Court if you are convicted of DUI.
Again, qualified drivers may be eligible to obtain a Special Operator’s Permit which will allow them to drive on a limited basis to and from work or school during the initial 45 day suspension period. We will help you prepare your application for a Special Operator’s Permit.
In Court, if you face first-time DUI charges, we will evaluate your case to determine whether it is defensible, and if so, we will aggressively defend you. If it is not a defensible case, we will explore other options, including getting you placed in a court sponsored diversionary program which does not result in a conviction for DUI, and the DUI charges will eventually be dismissed. If you are not eligible for a diversionary program, we are prepared to defend you of the charges to either get you off, or to reduce the punishment.
Contact Us After An Arrest For Driving Under The Influence In Connecticut
While the consequences of a DUI conviction can be harsh and expensive, remember, you are innocent until proven guilty. We are here to guide you through the legal process and help you achieve the most successful possible outcome both at the motor vehicle department level and in court. Remember, if you are arrested for DUI, you face possible sanctions in both the motor vehicle department and in Court.